Skip to content

The Future Of Journalism???

March 10, 2011

I don’t understand why people worry on this topic? Honestly as an undergraduate to journalism, I know after graduation that I still have to establish some sort of network in order to make me become a great Journalist and that the road is not going to be an easy one. But isn’t something worth, hard to get? That sounded very soulful! But nevertheless it is true.

I think technology has a powerful role to play with the drive on where journalism is going. Having multiple platforms to display news is quite reassuring when discussing this topic. Take the internet for example, I cannot honestly say how many times I’ve been on the internet before a Lecture quiz on current affairs to find out “what’s happening out there”, other than buying a newspaper (don’t get me wrong I do buy the papers). But anyway it’s this easy to reach news that we can gain more journalistic opportunities and as we can see the big industries are already capitalising on this. Take The Guardian for example, they have an iPad application. Who knew that 5 years ago?

Also having met so many people since joining university I can see that there is a big fight to be the best in this field. Everyone wants to highlight some sort of elitism in this industry. I did expect it but the gravity of this I did underestimate; and even this wild-like world where everyone wants to be the best is healthy for this trade. At the end of the day, Charles Darwin did say that we do live in a society where we are constantly at war – Survival of the fittest.

If you ask me about the future of journalism I’d say; don’t worry! I know I’m young and I feel quite grandfather with a pipe saying this but I believe that the future of journalism; isn’t just going to stay the healthy way it is, but expand further. We see this already with civilian journalism. New ideas are being created every day. It’s once we are out of ideas… then we should, I don’t know; start an apocalypse.

Related blogs:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 9:46 am

    hey! I mentioned you on my blog 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Beware, this is the first time I’ve ever blogged. Be gentle. | laurenconnor

Leave a Reply

